Review: Pissed Jeans – “Honeys”



Pissed Jeans

Sub Pop – February 12th 2013
By Joshua Khan (@blaremag)
Find it at: iTunes | Insound | HMV Digital





Just ask Matt Korvette – with aggression comes the responsibility to demand attention. The sec you throw Honeys on, the Pissed Jeans frontman claims “You’re in the kitchen crying / Don’t make me say I told you so”, and so begins 35 minutes of teeth-gnashing noise rock that could be used as a middle finger salute to your neighbours. The band don’t understand mellow, unless you consider the somewhat subtle nightmare “Cafeteria Food”, and whatever level you find yourself on, they’ll use their ageing sound to knock you senseless until your brain says “uncle”. The guitars are scuzzed-out and erratic (“Loubs”, “Male Gaze”) and when Sean McGuiness isn’t flailing like an addict behind his own kit (“Health Plan”), Korvette is turning Honeys into his own disorientating rip on humanity. It’s pure fun until someone gets hurt, so before you reinvest your time into Pissed Jeans, you might want to find some headgear.

Listen: “Romanticize Me”, “Health Plan” || Watch: Pissed Jeans – “Bathroom Laughter”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *